Sports after Covid-19

The current coronavirus pandemic is currently putting society to the test. Not only the health systems, but all areas of public life are faced with major challenges. With regard to the restoration of performance, doctors and sports scientists are now asked to systematically structure the "return-to-activity" after a Covid-19 infection.

In Germany there are currently around 1.6 million recovered Covid 19 patients - the number is steadily increasing. Soon there will be over 2 million people who want to return to their usual performance after recovering from illness.

Return-to-Activity Management

In order to keep the cardiac and respiratory risks after a Covid-19 infection low, we recommend resuming training in accordance with these guidelines systematically and under medical supervision.

From a medical point of view, it should be noted that in addition to the lungs, the cardiovascular system, the central and peripheral nervous system, as well as the liver and kidneys can be acutely affected. For this reason we advocate a monitored and systematic return to activity. We are guided by the guidelines of the research group Elliott et. al, a scientific group that has focused on the re-integration of athletes after Covid-19 diseases with their return-to-play protocol.

In the case of Covid-19 diseases, the known processes such as testing and isolation take effect first. Both processes can be carried out with the long-term EKG from Nambaya with medical measurement accuracy and yet in real life. In this way, for example, an increased breathing rate or heart rate can also be recognized in everyday life. Sufficient fluid intake, a balanced diet, enough sleep and physical rest support the recovery process from the start. If the symptoms do not improve after 7 days or even worsen, a further medical check-up is recommended.

Covid-19 symptoms
Shortness of breath
- Dry cough
- Fever
- Co-symptoms such as diarrhea and nausea
- Loss of taste and smell

The return-to-activity management is aimed at sick people with mild and moderate disease courses. In the case of more serious illnesses, with hospitalization, we recommend further measures in advance:
- Blood test for inflammation markers (high sensitivity troponin, brain natriuretic peptide and C-reactive protein)
- Cardiac monitoring (12-lead ECG, echocardiogram, exercise tolerance test, exercise test and cardiac MRI)
- Assessment of the respiratory function (spiroergometry)

Return-to-Activity Management is a systematic program for the gradual return to physical activity and performance after a Covid-19 illness. Before starting the step-by-step increase in performance, the patient / customer should:
- have rested completely for at least 10 days
- be symptom-free for at least 7 days
- be able to do everyday activities without feeling tired or short of breath
- stop taking medication to treat the disease

An accurate screening tool, such as that used by Nambaya, is ideal for detecting heart health and freedom from symptoms.

The way back to activity

Attention: If symptoms recur or symptoms of exhaustion are noticed, further progression should be refrained from and the rest phase should be resumed!

1st phase = rest break (at least 10 days)
We recommend avoiding any kind of physical strain during this phase. Health-promoting measures such as a balanced diet, plenty of sleep and sufficient hydration support the recovery process.

2nd phase = light activity (at least 2 days)
Daily activities such as walking, cycling or light jogging can be resumed. Make sure you have a moderate heart rate and a short exercise time of approx. 15 minutes. The 1-channel 24-hour ECG is ideal for everyday use to measure the heart rate.

3rd phase = increase activities (at least 4 days)
Simple movement routines that stabilize and mobilize the body or light training units can be integrated into the physical activity that was carried out before the illness. The duration (from 30 to a maximum of 60 minutes) and only then the intensity (maximum 80 % HFMax) of the activity should be increased.

4th phase = return to normal activity
The body is sufficiently recovered from day 17 at the earliest to return to normal activity.
We recommend checking your resting heart rate every day, as well as observing your symptoms and your subjective perception of exertion. With Nambaya, the heart rate and respiratory rate can be recorded precisely 24 hours a day in order to ensure optimal and fast care.

Return-to-activity with Nambaya

Nambaya is ideal for gaining insights into the progress of recovery and making improvements visible.

Important recovery processes such as healthy sleep and the ability of the nervous system to regulate can be carried out in real life with the Nambaya long-term EKG with medical measurement accuracy. Thanks to the small 1-channel ECG, which is hardly bigger than a car key, the heart rate can be ideally measured in everyday life and changes recorded.

Current studies indicate that in addition to the lungs, the cardiovascular system, the central and peripheral nervous system, as well as the liver and kidneys can be acutely affected. But more and more long-term studies show that many of the supposedly “recovered” suffer for weeks or months from the long-term effects of their infection. Researchers call the phenomenon "Long Covid". It affects the respiratory tract, the cardiovascular system, the muscular system, the nervous system and also the metabolism. The current state of studies is still patchy, but researchers assume that around ten to 20 percent of those infected will have long-term effects - some studies even speak of a significantly higher percentage.

All the more value we have to place not only on acute patient care, but also on holistic long-term care of those who have recovered, in order to go back to normality and to better performance together.

With the Nambaya measurement, we can precisely measure and display these important parameters under the simplest of conditions.

- Cardiac abnormalities such as arrhythmias and extrasystoles are recognized.
- The heart rate is recorded. Covid patients often suffer from an increased heart rate. An increase of ten to 20 beats usually goes unnoticed by the patient, but can lead to consequential damage in the long run

- The respiratory rate provides information about the resilience of the breathing apparatus. Consequential damage to the lungs, the cardiovascular system and metabolic activity significantly increase the respiratory rate.

- An illness is stress for the body. The body reacts to this and fights against the pathogens. This triggers body reactions that are clearly visible. Heart rate variability - an indicator of the body's ability to deal with stress - is limited in the case of an acute illness and an infection that has not yet completely healed

- A healthy sleep is an essential regeneration process and should not only have top priority in the event of illness and in the recovery process. With the Nambaya measurement, all sleep phases are clearly displayed.

The aim is, on the one hand, to accompany the recovery process with our measuring system in order to give recommendations for training practice.

The "best chase" should be that EVERYONE has their health status quo checked. Existing risk factors can be identified even without corona infection. In the event of an infection, this baseline can help to optimally classify the effects of the disease.

In addition, all those involved in the medical and therapeutic training care process are connected to one another via the evaluation platform.

The most important recommendations summarized:

Newsletter

As a thank you for registering, you will receive two eBooks for ECG and HRV-based data analysis.

Data protection*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

more comments

en_GB

Sport nach Covid-19

Die aktuelle Coronavirus-Pandemie stellt die Gesellschaft derzeit auf eine harte Probe. Nicht nur die Gesundheitssysteme, sondern alle Bereiche des öffentlichen Lebens werden vor große Herausforderungen gestellt. Auch im Hinblick auf die Wiederherstellung der Leistungsfähigkeit, sind Mediziner und Sportwissenschaftler nun gefragt, um den „Return-to-Activity“ nach einer Covid-19 Infektion systematisch zu gestalten.

In Deutschland sind es derzeit circa 1,6 Millionen genesene Covid-19-Patienten – die Zahl ist stetig steigend. Bald sind es über 2 Millionen Menschen, die nach überstandener Krankheit wieder zur gewohnten Leistungsfähigkeit zurückkehren möchten.

Return-to-Activity Management

Um die kardiologischen und respiratorischen Risiken nach einer Covid-19 Infektion gering zu halten, empfehlen wir die Wiederaufnahme des Trainings nach den vorliegenden Richtlinien systematisch und unter medizinischer Aufsicht wieder aufzunehmen.

Aus medizinischer Sicht ist zu bedenken, dass neben der Lunge auch das Herz-Kreislauf-System, das zentrale und periphere Nervensystem, sowie Leber und Nieren akut betroffen sein können. Aus diesem Grund plädieren wir für eine überwachte und systematische Rückkehr zur Aktivität. Wir orientieren uns dabei an den Richtlinien der Forschungsgruppe Elliott et. al, eine wissenschaftliche Gruppe, die sich mit ihrem Return-to-play Protokoll auf die Re-Integration von Athleten nach Covid-19 Erkrankungen fokussiert haben.

Bei Covid-19 Erkrankungen greifen zunächst die bekannten Prozesse wie Testung und Isolation. Beide Prozesse können durch das Langzeit EKG von Nambaya mit medizinischer Messgenauigkeit und dennoch im Real-Life durchgeführt werden. Dadurch können beispielsweise eine erhöhte Atemfrequenz oder Herzrate auch im Alltag erkannt werden. Ausreichend Flüssigkeitszufuhr, eine ausgewogene Ernährung, genügend Schlaf und körperliche Ruhe unterstützen den Genesungsprozess von Anfang an. Sollten sich die Symptome nach 7 Tagen nicht verbessern oder sogar verschlechtern, wird ein weiterer ärztlicher Check-up empfohlen.

Covid-19 Symptome
– Kurzatmigkeit
– Trockener Husten
– Fieber
– Co-Symptome wie Durchfall und Übelkeit
– Verlust des Geschmacks- und Geruchssinnes

Das Return-to-Activity Management richtet sich an Erkrankte mit leichten und moderaten Krankheitsverläufen. Bei schwerer wiegenden Krankheitsverläufen, mit Krankenhausaufenthalt, empfehlen wir vorab weitere Maßnahmen:
– Blutuntersuchung auf Entzündungsmarker (Hochempfindlichkeits-Troponin, Hirnnatriuretisches Peptid und C-reaktives Protein)
– Kardiale Überwachung (12-Kanal-EKG, Echokardiogramm, Belastungstoleranztest, Belastungstest und kardiales MRT)
– Beurteilung der Atmungsfunktion (Spiroergometrie)

Das Return-to-Activity Management ist ein systematisches Programm zur schrittweisen Wiederhinführung zur sportlichen Aktivität und Leistungsfähigkeit nach einer Covid-19 Erkrankung. Vor Einstieg in den schrittweisen Aufbau der Leistungsfähigkeit sollte der Patient/Kunde:
– mindestens 10 Tage vollständig geruht haben
– mindestens 7 Tage symptomfrei sein
– fähig sein, Alltagsaktivitäten ohne Ermüdungserscheinungen oder Kurzatmigkeit ausführen zu können
– keine Medikamente zur Behandlung der Erkrankung mehr zuführen

Zur Erkennung der Herzgesundheit und Symptomfreiheit bietet sich ein messgenaues Screening Tool an, wie es von Nambaya eingesetzt wird.

Der Weg zurück zur Aktivität

Achtung: Sollten dabei Symptome wiederkehren oder Erschöpfungserscheinungen festzustellen sein, sollte von einer weiteren Progression abgesehen und wieder die Ruhephase aufgenommen werden!

1. Phase = Ruhepause (mind. 10 Tage)
Wir empfehlen in dieser Phase auf jegliche Art von körperlicher Belastung zu verzichten. Gesundheitsfördernde Maßnahmen wie eine ausgewogene Ernährung, viel Schlaf und genügend Hydration unterstützen den Genesungsprozess.

2. Phase = leichte Aktivität (mind. 2 Tage)
Alltagsaktivitäten wie spazieren gehen, Rad fahren oder leichtes Joggen, können wieder aufgenommen werden. Achten Sie dabei auf eine moderate Herzfrequenz und eine kurze Belastungszeit von ca. 15 Minuten. Das 1-Kanal 24-Stunden-EKG eignet sich hier ideal im Alltag um die Herzfrequenz zu messen.

3. Phase = Aktivitäten steigern (mind. 4 Tage)
Einfache Bewegungsroutinen, die den Körper stabilisieren und mobilisieren oder leichte Trainingseinheiten, in der bereits vor der Erkrankung ausgeführten sportlichen Aktivität, können integriert werden. Dabei sollte zunächst die Dauer (von 30 bis maximal 60 Minuten) und erst im Anschluss die Intensität (maximal 80 % HFMax) der Aktivität gesteigert werden.

4. Phase = Rückkehr zur normalen Aktivität
Frühestens ab dem 17 Tag ist der Körper ausreichend erholt, um zur gewohnten Aktivität zurückzukehren.
Wir empfehlen die tägliche Überprüfung der Ruheherzfrequenz sowie das Beobachten der Symptome und des subjektiven Belastungsempfindens. Mit Nambaya kann die Herzrate und Atemfrequenz 24-Stunden genau aufgezeichnet werden, um eine optimale und schnell Betreuung zu sichern.

Mit Nambaya zum Return-to-Activity

Um Einblicke in den Verlauf der Genesung zu bekommen und Verbesserungen sichtbar zu machen, bietet sich Nambaya ideal an.

Wichtige Erholungsprozesse wie ein gesunder Schlaf und die Regulationsfähigkeit des Nervensystems können durch das Langzeit EKG von Nambaya mit medizinischer Messgenauigkeit im Real-Life durchgeführt werden. Durch das, kaum größer als ein Autoschlüssel, kleine 1-Kanal-EKG kann die Herzfrequenz ideal im Alltag gemessen und Veränderungen aufgezeichnet werden.

Aktuelle Studien weisen darauf hin, dass neben der Lunge auch das Herz-Kreislauf-System, das zentrale und periphere Nervensystem, sowie Leber und Nieren akut betroffen sein können. Doch in immer mehr Langzeit-Studien zeigt sich: Viele der vermeintlich „Genesenen“ leiden noch über Wochen oder Monate an den Spätfolgen ihrer Infektion. Das Phänomen nennen Forscher „Long Covid“. Es betrifft Atemwege, das Herz-Kreislauf-System, Muskelapparat, Nervensystem und auch den Stoffwechsel. Die Studienlage ist derzeit noch lückenhaft, dennoch gehen Forscher bei circa zehn bis 20 Prozent der Infizierten davon aus, dass Langzeitfolgen bestehen bleiben – einige Studien sprechen dabei sogar von einer deutlich höheren Prozentzahl.

Umso mehr Wert müssen wir nicht nur auf die akute Patientenbetreuung legen, sondern ebenso auf eine ganzheitliche Langzeitbetreuung der Genesenen, um den Weg zurück in die Normalität und hin zu mehr Leistungsfähigkeit gemeinsam gehen.

Mit der Nambaya-Messung können wir genau diese wichtigen Paramater unter einfachsten Bedingungen genau messen und darstellen.

– Auffälligkeiten im Herzschlag wie Arrhythmien und Extrasystolen werden erkannt.
– Die Herzfrequenz wird aufgezeichnet. Covid-Patienten leiden häufig unter einer erhöhten Herzfrequenz. Eine Erhöhung von zehn bis 20 Schlägen bleibt in der Regel unbemerkt vom Patienten, kann aber auf Dauer zu Folgeschäden führen

– Die Atemfrequenz gibt Aufschluss über die Belastbarkeit des Atemapparats. Folgeschäden an Lunge, im Herz-Kreislauf-System und der Stoffwechseltätigkeit erhöhen die Atemfrequenz deutlich.

– Eine Erkrankung ist Stress für den Körper. Der Körper reagiert darauf und kämpft gegen die Krankheitserreger an. Dabei werden Körperreaktionen ausgelöst, die deutlich sichtbar werden. Die Herzratenvariabilität – ein Indikator für die Fähigkeit des Körpers mit Stress umzugehen – ist im Falle einer akuten Erkrankung und noch nicht völlig ausgeheilter Infektion eingeschränkt

– Ein gesunder Schlaf ist ein essentieller Regenerationsprozess und sollte nicht nur im Falle einer Erkrankung und im Genesungsprozess oberste Priorität haben. Mit der Nambaya-Messung werden alle Schlafphasen übersichtlich dargestellt.

Ziel ist es, zum einen mit unserem Messsystem, den Genesungsprozess zu begleiten, um Empfehlungen für die Trainingspraxis zu geben.

Der „Best-Chase“ sollte aber sein, dass JEDER seinen Gesundheits-Status-Quo checken lässt. Auch ohne Coronainfektion lassen sich bestehende Risikofaktoren erkennen. Diese Baseline kann im Falle einer Infektion helfen, die Auswirkungen der Erkrankung optimal einordnen zu können.

Darüber hinaus sind alle Beteiligten des medizinischen und trainingstherapeutischen Betreuungsprozesses über die Auswertungsplattform miteinander verbunden.

Die wichtigsten Empfehlungen zusammengefasst:

Newsletter

Als Dankeschön für die Anmeldung erhalten Sie zwei eBooks zur EKG- und HRV-basierten Datenauswertung.

Datenschutz*
Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Weitere Beiträge

de_DE