QT-Life is live

The project started five weeks ago in pharmacies in Schleswig-Holstein.

The background - recognize the prolongation of the QT time

There are over 200 drugs from numerous groups of active substances that have an undesirable effect on the natural heart rhythm. Such side effects are particularly common with antiarrhythmics (drugs used to treat cardiac rhythm disorders) such as amiodarone, dofetilide, ibutilide, quinidine, procainamide or sotalol. However, numerous antidepressants, antibiotics, cancer drugs, etc. can also have a negative effect on the heart. As a result, potentially life-threatening (ventricular) cardiac arrhythmias of the Torsade de Pointes type can occur in patients. These can be seen in the ECG as an extension of the so-called QT time.

The project - a new form of health care

QT-Life is funded by the innovation fund of the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) in the area of "New Forms of Care" with 3.3 million euros. The project was set up to improve the drug safety (AMTS) of patients with QT time-prolonging drugs.
The enrollment in this project and the provision for early detection are carried out by the pharmacies. A new form of care that has never existed before. The pharmacies identify potential patients in the pharmacy when redeeming the prescribed medication if this poses a risk of drug-based QT time prolongation.
Partners in the project are DAK-Gesundheit, the Schleswig-Holstein Pharmacists' Association, the North Medical Association and we, Nambaya, as a technology company. The project is led by the Smartstep Data Institute. The Institute for Health Services Research at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) is responsible for evaluating the knowledge gained.

The current status - 140 pharmacies are involved

To date, more than 50 pharmacies have already been trained and half of them are already active in the project. Over 140 pharmacies have expressed their interest and are now being gradually supplied with all materials and access - the interest and commitment is great. The goal is to have 3,000 completed patient cases by March 2022.

The process - this is how it works

  1. Any DAK insured person who receives a QT-relevant drug on prescription from a pharmacy integrated into the project can participate in Schleswig-Holstein.
  2. The pharmacist will inform the insured person accordingly when reading the prescription and offer free participation in the “QT-life” study. After positive feedback, the drug history is taken with the help of the MediCheck software from Pharma4u and the pharmacist records the personal data.
  3. Then the participant is glued to the mobile EKG device (Faros from Bittium). The 1-channel ECG measures 24 hours in everyday life and at night, it can also be worn without problems when showering and during sports and is only minimally perceived due to its handy size.
  4. After the 24 hours have elapsed, the participant visits the pharmacy again. Here he returns the device and the pharmacist uploads the measurement to Nambaya-Medical on a secure server.
  5. The QT time is extracted from the ECG file and quickly evaluated within a few minutes. A traffic light system is used to carry out the initial assessment, which can be communicated to the patient immediately.
  6. At the same time, the participating cardiologists receive a notification that a measurement is available for detailed evaluation. The ECG is evaluated cardiologically by accessing the secure server. If the findings are abnormal, they are immediately forwarded to medical care, coordinated by the medical control center of Äg Nord.

The role of Nambaya - we make a fast and secure exchange of data possible

With our intelligent and cloud-based platform Nambaya-Medical, we network patients, pharmacists, cardiologists and medical control centers with each other and make a simple and fast screening process possible. The communication of sensitive health data takes place via our GDPR-compliant platform and server.

pharmacy

  • Patient overview
  • Assign the ECG recorder to the patient
  • Upload measurement data
  • Quick evaluation of the QT time

cardiology

  • Patient overview
  • Assign case
  • Detailed evaluation via Navigator software (Bittium)
  • Download report
  • Diagnosis by electronic signature

Medical control center

  • Patient overview
  • Coordination, forwarding of all documents to patients

QTlife team

  • Project overview

The measuring device - record easily and precisely

We also use the Faros from Bittium for the QT-Life project, which is perfectly suited to its ease of use. The waterproof ECG recorder, certified as a medical product, records ECG, sleep, breathing and movement data precisely with a measuring power of up to 1,000 Hz. Barely larger than a car key and weighing only 18 grams, it accompanies patients in everyday life and at night without disturbing or restricting movement.

Newsletter

As a thank you for registering, you will receive two eBooks for ECG and HRV-based data analysis.

Data protection*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
en_GB

QT-Life ist live

Vor fünf Wochen startete das Projekt in den Schleswig-Holsteiner Apotheken.

Die Hintergründe – Verlängerung der QT-Zeit erkennen

Es existieren über 200 Medikamente zahlreicher Wirkstoffgruppen, die den natürlichen Herz-Rhythmus unerwünscht beeinflussen. Besonders häufig kommt es unter Antiarrhythmika (Arzneistoffe zur Behandlung von Herz-Rhythmus-Störungen) wie beispielsweise Amiodaron, Dofetilid, Ibutilid, Quinidin, Procainamid oder Sotalol zu derartigen Nebenwirkungen. Aber auch zahlreiche Antidepressiva, Antibiotika, Krebsmedikamente usw. können sich in negativer Weise auf das Herz auswirken. In Folge dessen können bei Patienten potentiell lebensbedrohliche (ventrikuläre) Herzrhythmusstörungen vom Typ der Torsade de Pointes auftreten. Diese sind im EKG als Verlängerung der sogenannten QT-Zeit zu erkennen.

Das Projekt – eine neue Form der Gesundheitsversorgung

QT-Life wird vom Innovationsfond des Gemeinsamen Bundesausschusses (G-BA) im Bereich „Neue Versorgungsformen“ mit 3,3 Millionen Euro gefördert. Das Projekt wurde ins Leben gerufen, um die Arzneimittelsicherheit (AMTS) von Patienten mit QT-Zeit-verlängernden Medikamente zu verbessern.
Die Einschreibung in dieses Projekt und die Versorgung zur Früherkennung erfolgt über die Apotheken. Eine neue Form der Versorgung, die es bisher noch nicht gab. Die Apotheken identifizieren potentielle Patienten in der Apotheke beim Einlösen des verordneten Medikamentes, wenn durch dieses ein Risiko zur arzneimittelbasierten QT-Zeit Verlängerung besteht.
Partner des Projekts sind die DAK-Gesundheit, der Apothekerverband Schleswig-Holstein, die Ärztegenossenschaft Nord, und wir, Nambaya, als Technologiefirma. Geleitet wird das Projekt vom Smartstep Data Institute. Die Evaluation der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse obliegt dem Institut für Versorgungsforschung am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE).

Der aktuelle Stand – 140 Apotheken sind beteiligt

Zum heutigen Zeitpunkt sind über 50 Apotheken bereits geschult und die Hälfte davon schon aktiv im Projekt. Über 140 Apotheken haben Ihr Interesse bekundet und werden nun nach und nach mit allen Materialien und Zugängen versorgt – das Interesse und Engagement ist groß. Das Ziel ist, bis März 2022 3.000 abgeschlossene Patientenfälle zu erreichen.

Der Prozess – so funktioniert’s

  1. Teilnehmen kann in Schleswig-Holstein jeder DAK-Versicherte, der in einer in das Projekt integrierten Apotheke ein QT-relevantes Medikament auf Rezept erhält.
  2. Die Apothekerin oder der Apotheker informieren den oder die Versicherte bei der Rezepteinlesung entsprechend und bieten die kostenlose Teilnahme an der Studie „QT-life“ an. Nach positiver Rückmeldung erfolgt die Arzneimittelanamnese mithilfe der Software MediCheck von Pharma4u sowie die Erfassung der personenbezogenen Daten durch den Apotheker.
  3. Im Anschluss wird dem/der Teilnehmer/-in das mobile EKG-Gerät (Faros von Bittium) angeklebt. Das 1-Kanal-EKG misst 24 Stunden im Alltag und in der Nacht, er kann auch ohne Probleme beim Duschen und während dem Sport getragen werden und wird durch seine handliche Größe nur minimal wahrgenommen.
  4. Nach Ablauf der 24 Stunden sucht der/die Teilnehmer/-in die Apotheke erneut auf. Hier gibt er das Gerät wieder ab und der/die Apotheker/-in lädt die Messung auf Nambaya-Medical in einen gesicherten Server hoch.
  5. Innerhalb von wenigen Minuten wird die QT-Zeit aus der EKG-Datei extrahiert und schnellausgewertet. Durch ein Ampelsystem erfolgt also die Ersteinschätzung, die dem Patienten sofort mitgeteilt werden kann.
  6. Gleichzeitig erhalten die teilnehmenden Kardiologien eine Benachrichtigung, dass eine Messung zur Detailauswertung bereit steht. Durch Zugriff auf den gesicherten Server wird das EKG kardiologisch befundet. Bei auffälliger Befundung erfolgt die unverzügliche Weiterleitung in die ärztliche Versorgung, koordiniert durch die ärztliche Leitstelle der äg Nord.

Die Rolle von Nambaya – wir machen einen schnellen und sicheren Datenaustausch möglich

Mit unserer intelligenten und cloudbasierten Plattform Nambaya-Medical, vernetzen wir Patient*innen, Apotheker*innen, Kardiologien sowie die ärztlichen Leistellen miteinander und machen einen einfachen sowie schnellen Screening-Prozess möglich. Die Kommunikation der sensiblen Gesundheitsdaten erfolgt über unsere DSGVO-konforme Plattform und Server.

Apotheke

  • Patientenübersicht
  • EKG-Rekorder an den Patienten zuweisen
  • Daten der Messung hochladen
  • Schnellauswertung der QT-Zeit

Kardiologie

  • Patientenübersicht
  • Fall zuweisen
  • Detailauswertung über Navigator Software (Bittium)
  • Report herunterladen
  • Befundung durch elektronische Unterschrift

Ärztliche Leitstelle

  • Patientenübersicht
  • Koordination, Weiterleitung aller Dokumente an Patienten

QTlife Team

  • Projektübersicht

Das Messgerät – einfach und präzise aufzeichnen

Auch für das QT-Life Projekt nutzen wir den Faros von der Firma Bittium, der er sich durch die einfache Handhabbarkeit perfekt eignet. Der als Medizinprodukt zertifizierte, wasserfeste EKG-Rekorder zeichnet mit bis zu 1.000 Hz Messleistung EKG-, Schlaf, Atem- und Bewegungsdaten präzise auf. Kaum größer als ein Autoschlüssel und 18 Gramm leicht, begleitet er ohne zu stören oder die Bewegungsabläufe einzuschränken die Patienten im Alltag und der Nacht.

Newsletter

Als Dankeschön für die Anmeldung erhalten Sie zwei eBooks zur EKG- und HRV-basierten Datenauswertung.

Datenschutz*
Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.
de_DE